15 GOP Senators Want New Anti-Union
Election Law
Over 100 GOP Cosponsors in House, all Republican

September 17, 2017 
LABORPRESS, By Steve Wishnia and Neal Tepel 
Link to Article

Washington, DC—Fifteen Senate Republicans introduced a bill Sept. 8 intended to make it harder for unions to win the ability to represent employees in a workplace and keep it. The legislation, called the Employee Rights Act, would outlaw employers recognizing unions by card check, and mandate that unions not just win a majority of those who cast votes in a secret-ballot election, but a majority of all employees in the workplace.

It would also undo the Obama-era National Labor Relations Board rule that shortened the period between an election being authorized and the actual vote, a rule that employers—who would prefer more time to campaign against the union—have denounced as “ambush elections.”

It would also require unions to run for recertification if there has been significant turnover at a workplace. “This comprehensive workers’ rights bill does not include a single provision that empowers employers at the expense of unions,” said lead sponsor Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah). 

The 15 cosponsors include Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), chair of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee; unsuccessful presidential candidates Ted Cruz (R-Tex.) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), and Dean Heller (R-Nev.). The House version, introduced in May, has 90 co-sponsors, all Republicans. 

Senate Bill Number S. 1774
Sponsor: Sen. Orrin G. Hatch [UT] 
Sen. Lamar Alexander [TN] 
Sen. John Cornyn [TX] 
Sen. Ted Cruz [TX] 
Sen. Dean Heller [NV] 
Sen. Johnny Isakson [GA] 
Sen. James Lankford [OK] 
Sen. David Perdue [GA] 
Sen. James E. Risch [ID] 
Sen. Pat Roberts [KS] 
Sen. Marco Rubio [FL] 
Sen. Ben Sasse [NE] 
Sen. Tim Scott [SC] 
Sen. Richard C. Shelby [AL] 
Sen. Roger F. Wicker [MS] 
Sen. Todd C. Young [IN]

Cosponsors (101) H.R.2723 - Employee Rights Act
Rep. LaMalfa, Doug [R-CA-1]* 
Rep. Duncan, Jeff [R-SC-3]* 
Rep. Woodall, Rob [R-GA-7]* 
Rep. Bilirakis, Gus M. [R-FL-12]* 
Rep. Hudson, Richard [R-NC-8]* 
Rep. Wilson, Joe [R-SC-2]* 
Rep. Allen, Rick W. [R-GA-12] 
Rep. Pittenger, Robert [R-NC-9] 
Rep. Davidson, Warren [R-OH-8] 
Rep. Meadows, Mark [R-NC-11] 
Rep. Webster, Daniel [R-FL-11] 
Rep. Wenstrup, Brad R. [R-OH-2] 
Rep. Guthrie, Brett [R-KY-2] 
Rep. Goodlatte, Bob [R-VA-6] 
Rep. Buck, Ken [R-CO-4] 
Rep. Rokita, Todd [R-IN-4] 
Rep. Budd, Ted [R-NC-13] 
Rep. Gohmert, Louie [R-TX-1] 
Rep. Stewart, Chris [R-UT-2] 
Rep. Fleischmann, Charles J. "Chuck" [R-TN-3] 
Rep. Brat, Dave [R-VA-7] 
Rep. Biggs, Andy [R-AZ-5] 
Rep. Bishop, Mike [R-MI-8] 
Rep. Palmer, Gary J. [R-AL-6] 
Rep. Loudermilk, Barry [R-GA-11] 
Rep. Gosar, Paul A. [R-AZ-4] 
Rep. Bridenstine, Jim [R-OK-1] 
Rep. Grothman, Glenn [R-WI-6] 
Rep. Blackburn, Marsha [R-TN-7] 
Rep. Messer, Luke [R-IN-6] 
Rep. Ferguson, A. Drew, IV [R-GA-3] 
Rep. Roby, Martha [R-AL-2] 
Rep. Rouzer, David [R-NC-7] 
Rep. Rooney, Francis [R-FL-19] 
Rep. DeSantis, Ron [R-FL-6] 
Rep. Byrne, Bradley [R-AL-1] 
Rep. Hensarling, Jeb [R-TX-5] 
Rep. Olson, Pete [R-TX-22] 
Rep. Black, Diane [R-TN-6] 
Rep. DesJarlais, Scott [R-TN-4] 
Rep. Harris, Andy [R-MD-1] 
Rep. Kustoff, David [R-TN-8] 
Rep. Johnson, Sam [R-TX-3] 
Rep. Crawford, Eric A. "Rick" [R-AR-1] 
Rep. Carter, Earl L. "Buddy" [R-GA-1] 
Rep. Love, Mia B. [R-UT-4] 
Rep. Gaetz, Matt [R-FL-1] 
Rep. Marshall, Roger W. [R-KS-1] 
Rep. Abraham, Ralph Lee [R-LA-5] 
Rep. Bucshon, Larry [R-IN-8] 
Rep. Brooks, Mo [R-AL-5] 
Rep. Walker, Mark [R-NC-6] 
Rep. Ratcliffe, John [R-TX-4] 
Rep. Hunter, Duncan D. [R-CA-50] 
Rep. Walorski, Jackie [R-IN-2] 
Rep. Flores, Bill [R-TX-17] 
Rep. Marchant, Kenny [R-TX-24] 
Rep. Jenkins, Lynn [R-KS-2] 
Rep. Smith, Lamar [R-TX-21] 
Rep. Weber, Randy K., Sr. [R-TX-14] 
Rep. Farenthold, Blake [R-TX-27] 
Rep. Babin, Brian [R-TX-36] 
Rep. Rogers, Mike D. [R-AL-3] 
Rep. Graves, Tom [R-GA-14] 
Rep. Ross, Dennis A. [R-FL-15] 
Rep. Smith, Jason [R-MO-8] 
Rep. Banks, Jim [R-IN-3] 
Rep. Labrador, Raul R. [R-ID-1] 
Rep. Long, Billy [R-MO-7] 
Rep. McCaul, Michael T. [R-TX-10] 
Rep. Lamborn, Doug [R-CO-5] 
Rep. Noem, Kristi L. [R-SD-At Large] 
Rep. Wagner, Ann [R-MO-2] 
Rep. Chabot, Steve [R-OH-1] 
Rep. Culberson, John Abney [R-TX-7] 
Rep. Russell, Steve [R-OK-5] 
Rep. Sessions, Pete [R-TX-32] 
Rep. Johnson, Mike [R-LA-4] 
Rep. Dunn, Neal P. [R-FL-2] 
Rep. Burgess, Michael C. [R-TX-26] 
Rep. Coffman, Mike [R-CO-6] 
Rep. King, Steve [R-IA-4] 
Rep. Hice, Jody B. [R-GA-10] 
Rep. Smith, Adrian [R-NE-3] 
Rep. Williams, Roger [R-TX-25] 
Rep. Barr, Andy [R-KY-6] 
Rep. Brady, Kevin [R-TX-8] 
Rep. Kelly, Trent [R-MS-1] 
Rep. Rice, Tom [R-SC-7] 
Rep. Garrett, Thomas A., Jr. [R-VA-5] 
Rep. Comstock, Barbara [R-VA-10] 
Rep. Thornberry, Mac [R-TX-13] 
Rep. Graves, Garret [R-LA-6] 
Rep. Yoho, Ted S. [R-FL-3] 
Rep. Poe, Ted [R-TX-2] 
Rep. Hartzler, Vicky [R-MO-4] 
Rep. Perry, Scott [R-PA-4] 
Rep. Cheney, Liz [R-WY-At Large] 
Rep. Holding, George [R-NC-2] 
Rep. Tipton, Scott R. [R-CO-3] 
Rep. Norman, Ralph [R-SC-5]

a campaign for Congress to
support civil service

National Federation of 
Federal Employees
Chicago, IL

We Work for America 
Complete List of Sponsoring
Members of Congress, 
Senate and House
Vote NO on H.R.2723, S.1774